Plan Participants

The Habitat Plan was prepared by six local agencies (also known as Local Partners):
  • City of Gilroy
  • City of Morgan Hill
  • City of San José
  • County of Santa Clara (County)
  • Santa Clara Valley Water District
  • Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority
The Habitat Plan grew from a collaborative effort in the early 2000s among four of these partners—the County, City of San José, SCVWD, and the VTA—who were developing a joint HCP/NCCP for several local transportation projects. In 2005, these partners were joined by the Cities of Gilroy and Morgan Hill, who recognized the long-term benefits of the Habitat Plan for their communities.

In developing the Habitat Plan, these Local Partners worked with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) and the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW), the two agencies responsible for applicable state and federal laws pertaining to endangered species. USFWS and CDFW are collectively referred to as the Wildlife Agencies.

Collectively, the Local Partners and the Habitat Agency are referred as Co-Permittees.

The final Habitat Plan was approved and adopted by the Co-Permittees in 2013.